Veke

all messages by user

2/11/2014
Topic:
Subject: Presidents Weekend

Veke
Veke
How full does the park get during President's Weekend. I've been visiting Death Valley for 26 years and I think it's time to change it up and expand my knowledge of this great desert. Unfortunately DV becomes a zoo during this holiday and it discourages me from wanting to visit there so I was wondering what the impact is on AB. I have two boys 8 & 5 and would love to visit here. Any advice would be encouraged and very well appreciated.

Cos
2/11/2014
Topic:

Veke
Veke
Thank you for responding to my post. Since I know nothing of AB and have been trying to educate myself on AB by reading completed trips and such what would you recommend as a must see and it being somewhat remote? I do own a Chevy Silverado 4x4 crew cab truck. General areas as to being the quietest and kid friendly is what I'm after. Since I live in Cucamonga I would think that the best place to enter the park would be from the S86?
2/11/2014
Topic:

Veke
Veke
Can you recommend a book on AB that would explain all the different camp sites, trails and places of interest? REI or Amazon that would carry? Thanks
2/11/2014
Topic:

Veke
Veke
Thank you so very much. I'm overwhelmed with information. Over the years I've been able to establish relationships with a few DV wonderers and have been blessed with those relationships. My basic question is are any of the diehards on this forum open to meeting new families and creating new friendships? I'm into photography and enjoy hiking especially now that my boys get it. Just asking if there are any interested.
2/12/2014
Topic:

Veke
Veke
Thanks for all the information and responses to my post.

I'm unfamiliar with AB and am currently on the fence as to whether this is the right weekend to get familiar with AB. I would hate to show up and it be so crowded that my camping choices would be limited. Hope to run into a few of you guys sometime. Enjoy.

Cos
2/13/2014
Topic:

Veke
Veke